RSS

Accountability Counts!

04 Jun

accountabilityHi Guys!

Something that I think most, if not all of us run from at some point or other in our lives is accountability! You know, the checking in with a trusted friend or mentor, to keep you on track with goals…the person who when you were gung-ho on an idea, you told to not be afraid to whip you in shape if you seem to be falling off course – the person you told to call you every morning at a certain time so you could get up and workout – yea…that same person, who because they’re doing what you asked, is now getting on your last nerve! LOL, sound familiar? Isn’t that something we all do – ask for help, but then get annoyed when we get it because WE aren’t really READY to receive the help? Yep..been there, done that!

For getting it wrong so many times, I’ve finally learned that there is safety in being accountable! For instance, if I’m dating someone (or even going out on a friendly outing), I shout it from the rooftops to one of my girlfriend’s, because I know she has my back and she covers me in prayer…so I keep her in the loop on 99.99% (you know you have to keep that .01% to yourself lol) of everything that goes down between me and homeboy, because I don’t want to get caught up and set off a certain path – I’m open to her telling me, “Yori, you’re being a hot mess! (even though she wouldn’t say it quite like that! lol) – I’m open to her correction, advice, encouragement, etc.

For my fitness journey, I joined an accountability group on facebook and it has really helped me to stay on track (because if you don’t, our coach will call us out and ask where we are – and nobody wants to get called out!) It’s helped me stay on track, and for those times when I didn’t want to push through a workout, or eat properly, looking at what some of the other ladies in the group were doing, gave me the boost I needed to get off the couch and put away the bag of Cheetos!

Accountability forces you to be honest and transparent about where you really are along a certain path….and in the long-run, if you really submit to it, it helps you to meet and exceed your goals!

Sooooo, who are you accountable to?

Have a great afternoon!

Love,

YG

 

2 responses to “Accountability Counts!

  1. annabachinsky

    June 4, 2013 at 10:06 pm

    I totally agree with you. Accountability is SO important in helping you stay on track with what you promised yourself you’d do. Right now the person who keeps me accountable is my mentor, back in the day it used to be my best friend. Regardless of who it is, it’s so good to have someone check up on you and remind you of what you’re supposed to be doing.

     
  2. yorialain

    June 5, 2013 at 10:00 am

    So true girl!! Blessings!

     

Leave a comment